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I am in Paphos, Cyprus, as 
the Chief Technical Official 
at the Atlantic Senior Fours 
event which was one of those 

COVID-19 casualties that was due 
to be held in the winter of 2020. 

This inaugural event is a new 
format sanctioned by World 
Bowls and features some of the 
games greatest stalwarts, including tournament 
director, Gary Smith. 

The event runs from December 1-12 at the 
impressive Constantinou Brothers, Athena Beach 
Resort in Pathos. Thirteen nations are competing 
in the three disciplines of men’s and ladies’ fours 
and mixed fours all over the spritely age of 55.

I am joined by six International Technical Officials 
– Roger Black and Pat and Arthur Gammack 
from Scotland, Huw Jones from Wales and Dan 
Bluett and Angie Thompson from England. Cyprus 
have also fielded an impressive team of National 
Technical Officials under the expert management of 
Bowls Cyprus umpire Jane Hewitt. 

The format is straight forward with two sessions 
each day and the games comprising 15 ends 
or two hours 30 minutes. The event starts with 
sectional play for the men’s and ladies’ fours 
followed by a straight knockout in the mixed 
fours. A single, central re-spot position will be 
used to keep the games flowing on time. 

The games are being live streamed on the 
Atlantic Senior Fours website and on YouTube, 
with the familiar dulcet Lancastrian tones of 
Jason Parkinson heading up the commentary.

I will just about have enough time for a 
Christmas and New Year tipple upon my return 
before heading off to Potters Leisure Resort 
for the 2024 Imagine Cruising World Indoor 
Championships for my 25th event. I will again be 
joined by our great team of officials, Dan Bluett, 
Francis Fletcher, Neill Brice and Mike Davies 
(also attending for his 25th year), as well as our 
two new recruits Sue Mates and Greg Brown. 
I will report back on any incidents of note in 
future articles.

BUSY TIMES
The past few months has been a 
busy time revamping the training 
and development processes for 
umpires in England. We have now 
recommenced training after a 
short hiatus and have encouraging 
numbers of new applications 
coming through. 

As we have mentioned previously, including 
Corky’s November article on Volunteers and 
Umpires, we are in need of new interest from 
anyone wishing to officiate in this great sport. 

The indoor season is always challenging for 
officials due to the vast number of competitions 
being played nationally every weekend and indeed 
during the week as well. 

The PBA qualifiers this season have been an 
incredible success with record numbers of 
venues and entries around the UK. Volunteer 
umpires have been available at each one for long 
days and the PBA have relied heavily on the 
kindness of defeated players to go on and mark 
games. I can only imagine how hard it must be for 
a player to lose in a tight qualifying match for a 
place at the World Indoor Championships to 
then have to step back on the rink and mark 
a game. I know I would rather go and sit in a 
darkened room and drown my sorrows. Some 
venues, such as Bromley in Kent, are blessed with 
large numbers of qualified markers under the 
expert tutelage of Alex Duckworth and they have 
all gained significant experience from 
these qualifiers. 

My dream as development officer for the 
English Umpires Association is to work closely 
with the PBA and help provide qualified markers 
at each of their events for each round. It may be 
a pipe dream, but I see it as a benefit to the PBA 
and also to the EBUA for recruitment of 
new officials.

If you are interested in becoming a marker or and 
umpire, then please take a look at the EBUA website 
www.ebua.co.uk to see what it involves.

Turning attention to some of 
your questions which you 
have kindly sent into us here 
at Bowls International and 

also posed on various social 
media pages.

Whilst on the subject of the PBA 
and World Indoor Championships, I 
thought I would pick up a question 
posed on Facebook from Ann 
Murdoch regarding re-spotting a jack 
and in particular its placement on 
the centre line two metre ‘T’.

The Laws of the 
Sport allow for 
re-spotting the 
jack in Law 56 
– sets play, but 
it is becoming 
more common 
to do so in 
the traditional 
formats to keep 
the game to 
time limits. This is normally specified 
in the conditions of play for the 
competition. There is the option to 
have one or three re-spot positions 
i.e. one on either side of the centre 
line and the centre two-metre ‘T’ 
position or just the two metre 
‘T’ position. 

Ann’s question related to the 
placement of the jack on the ‘T’ 
following a challenge after it was 
incorrectly placed. Now, this is 
not an unusual occurrence as we 
often see players place the jack 
on or around the two-metre mark 
incorrectly. Most commonly on 
outdoor rinks when using a 
two-metre stick. 

In her question, Ann asked if there 
was a definitive answer as to where 
the jack should be placed. Well yes, 
there is and one of those appears 
in the law book in appendix B3. The 
key to this is to understand that the 
jack must be placed with its nearest 
point to the mat being two metres 
from the front ditch. 

Look at the two diagrams here 
showing where the jack should 
and should not be placed on the ‘T’ 
for a re-spot and also after being 
delivered. Incorrect placement of 
the jack can be game changing if the 
result of the end is determined by a 
measure for example. So, it is worth 
taking care when placing the jack on 
a ‘T’ or re-spot.

Into the 
winter

“My dream as 
development 
offi  cer for 
the English 
Umpires 
Association 
is to work 
closely with 
the PBA and 

As you sit in your comfy armchair with a warm cuppa 
and the heating on reading this article, I will be in Cyprus, 

hopefully enjoying the last bit of sunshine and warmth 
before heading into the World Indoor Championships and 

the long winter and spring months ahead

READERS' QUESTIONS  ANSWERED

time limits. This is normally specified 
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This does beg the question why, 
when we have the two side re-spot 
positions, are they normally dots 
and not ‘Ts’?  The law says that if the 
jack passes outside the boundary on 
either the left or right of the rink, it 
must be placed with the nearest point 
of the jack to the mat line at a spot on 
the rink which is two metres from the 
front ditch and 1.5 metres to the right 
or left of the centre line. If it is a spot, 
then I would bet my hat on the jack 
being placed on top of the spot and 
therefore more than two metres from 
the front ditch. Would it therefore not 
make sense to mark re-spot positions 
with a ‘T’? Food for thought.

Finally, a second question from Ann 
Murdoch: When playing on an indoor 
rink. A player delivered a wrong bias 
bowl which unfortunately hit the jack 
that had been delivered, and was on 
its original course, on the adjacent 
rink. The skip of the team that 
delivered the wrong bias insisted that 
the bowl should be re-delivered as it 
had hit something even though the 
bowl was on the wrong rink.

It all seems to be happening on 
Ann’s rink!

There are a couple of things to 
consider here. Firstly, the bowl 
delivered on the wrong bias. This bowl 
is dead and must not be replayed as 
stated in Law 17.1.5: “A bowl is a dead 
bowl if in its original course, it passes 
outside a side boundary of the rink 
on a bias which would prevent it from 
re-entering the rink of play.”

Now we move to Ann’s rink where 
the jack was displaced by the wrong 
bias bowl. This bowl, by this point, had 
become a neutral object as defined by 

Bottom left:
The correct 
and incorrect 
placement of 
the jack on 
a two-metre 
‘T’ position or 
using a two-
metre stick on 
outdoor rinks

Bottom right:
Re-spotting a 
jack on a spot 
results in the 
front of the 
jack being 
more than 
two metres 
from the front 
ditch. Would it 
not be better 
to use a ‘T’ 
as a re-spot 
position?

READERS' QUESTIONS  ANSWERED

Definition C.24.2.1: “Neutral Object: 
a jack, bowl or other object not 
belonging to any player on the rink 
of play.”

As a neutral object displacing 
the delivered jack, we turn to Law 
38.3.1: “If a jack in its original course 
is displaced by a neutral person or 
neutral object, it must be re-delivered 
by the same player.”

I hope this helps Ann. Thank you 
for submitting those questions and 
if anyone else would like answers to 
some tricky situations you have found 
yourselves in then please do drop us 
a line at Bowls International. 

May I take this opportunity to wish 
all readers of Bowls International a 
very Happy Christmas and prosperous 
2024. Good bowling!

Left:
Appendix B3 
of the Laws 
of the Sport 
illustrates 
the current 
placement of 
the jack at the 
two-metre 
position
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