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Don’t touch that bowl!

| guess one positive that has come from discussions over the past 12 months is that
players and officials are now more aware of the existence of laws that deal with
displacement. Having said that, the awareness has really only extended to the two
new laws introduced last year and recently rescinded by World Bowls. During the
heat of the debate, it seemed that every possible scenario of bowls being displaced
or stopped was met with calls for disqualification

Below:

Nine times out of
10 when a bowl is
moved accidentally
by a player the
consequences

are sorted out
amicably and with
agreement with all
concerned

Credit: Allen Simms

o this month, I thought I
would provide a guide to
the various laws relating to
displacement.

The possible scenarios are endless
and some of the emails and social
media posts on the subject are
sometimes hard to visualise. ’'m sure
there are many made up just to test
us. Let’s not beat about the bush here
— the laws relating to displacement of
bowls and jacks are difficult to learn.
They must cover a whole range of
possible things that can go wrong on
the rink.

I defy anyone without detailed
familiarity of the Laws of the Sport
to be able to remember the various
combinations in Laws 37 and 38. It is
for this reason that various methods
have been devised for assisting with
the instant decision making required
with some of these situations.

It is very commendable if you are
able to learn the laws of displacement
parrot fashion. But this is unlikely to
help you in the heat of the moment
when faced with a catastrophic
destruction of a game lying head by
a clumsy lead. Nine times out of 10
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when a bowl is moved accidentally by
a player the consequences are sorted
out amicably and with agreement
with all concerned. Often, not in
accordance with the laws — does it
really matter?

“Getting it right the first
time and walking off
the rink with complete
confidence is what the
players like to see”

Consider the most common bowl
displacement situation. Mavis has
played her bowls and is standing at
the head admiring her skips ability
to draw the shot — she steps back
and kicks a bowl that she forgot was
behind her. What does she do? She
reaches back precariously so as not to
move her offending foot and simply
puts the bowl back from where she
kicked it. Go on admit it, we have all
done it. Is it the correct action? Well
no it’s not, but do we need to get the
grumpy old umpire involved just to be
told that it should have been Mavis’s

opponent that puts the bowl back. As
I said, nine times out of 10, it will all
be resolved amicably and the umpire
probably wouldn’t even notice.

It will be the more complicated
situations where tensions are high
and a displacement of a jack or some
bowls turns into the end of the world
for those concerned. This is where
the umpire is called and uses all their
charm and calm authority to impart
the right information and come up
with the correct solution in line with
the laws. Fumbling their way through
pages of the law book to find the
right clauses to deal with the situation
probably won't instil a huge amount
of confidence. Getting it right the
first time and walking off the rink
with complete confidence is what the
players like to see.

Before we even begin to consider
the various options to deal with
displacement, it is worth going right
back to basic definitions.

Many wrong decisions being made
is due to the lack of understanding of
the following:

Jack or bowl in its original course —
a jack or bowl from the time it leaves
the hand to the time it comes to rest.

Jack or bowl at rest — a jack or bowl
that is quite simply in the head
not moving

www.bowlsinternational.com

Did bowl disturb the head BEFORE displacement H Was Bowl displaced by the team that delivered it H[ Did bowl disturb the head AFTER displacement

DISTURBANCE IS
VALID
Law 37.1.2.1

!

[ Did bowl disturb the head AFTER displacement ] [ Did bowl disturb the head AFTER displacement ]
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Opposing skip or the
opponent in Singles
must replace any part
of the head that has
been disturbed and
choose whether to:

o place the bowl where
the player believes it
would have come to
rest

® |eave the bowl where
it came to rest

Opposing skip or
opponent in Singles
must choose whether
to:

e place the bowl where
the player believes it
would have come to
rest

o |eave the bowl where
it came to rest

Opposing skip must
replace the head and
declare the bowl! dead

Opposing skip must
declare the bowl dead

Skip of the team or the
Singles player that
played the bowl must
choose whether to:

e Replace the head and
have the bow!
replayed,

o replace the head and
place the bowl where
the player thinks it
would have come to
rest

e declare the end dead.
Law 37.1.1.4

Skip of the team or the

Singles player that

played the bow! must

choose whether to:

® have the bowl
replayed

e place the bowl where
the player thinks it
would have come to
rest

® |eave the bow! where
it came to rest.

Law 37.1.2.3 V

Llaw 37.1.2.2 V

Law 37.1.1.2 y

Law 37.1.1.1 y

law37.1.1.3 V

BOWL DISPLACEMENT BY A PLAYER - PAGE 2

Was Bowl Was Bow! Was Bowl in its
IN MOTION AT REST ORIGINAL COURSE
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[ Did bowl disturb the head AFTER displacement J

[ Did bowl disturb the head AFTER displacement ]
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Opposing skip or the

opponent in Singles

must choose whether

to:

® place the bow!
where the player
believes it would
have come to rest
and replace any part
of the head
disturbed after
displacement

o Declare the end dead

Law 37.1.4.2 V

Opposing skip or the
opponent in Singles the bowl back to its
must choose whether former position and
to: replace any part of the
* place the bow! head disturbed after
where the player displacement
believes it would
have come to rest
o Declare the end dead

Opponent must put

Law 37.1.5.2 V

Opponent must put
the bowl back to its
former position

Law 37.1.5.1 y

Law 37.1.4.1 V

Jack or bowl in motion — a bowl that
has been at rest in the head but is now
moving as a result of play, so being hit
by bowl for example.

Quite often in questions posed to
us, we hear bowl in motion being
used instead of original course and it
makes a huge difference to the advice
that we give.
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There are a few basic principles
that are applied to all displacement
situations and if these can be
remembered then you will go a long
way to making the right decisions:

« If anything at rest in the head is
displaced by a player on the rink,
ONLY the opposing player (skip)
has the option to replace it.

* If a bowl or jack was in motion and
is displaced by a player, then only
the opposing player (skip) has the
option to put it where they think it
would have stopped or declare the
end dead.

* If a delivered bowl is displaced the
only the opposing player (skip) has
the option to put it where their €&
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Red delivers a bowl and it hits Blue on the leg and then hits a Umpires decision?
red bowl in the head. Ask the questions.

JACK DISPLACEMENT BY A PLAYER

Including displacement by a disabled player's equipment or assistant

JACK DISPLACEMENT BY A NEUTRAL PERSON OR NEUTRAL OBJECT OR A
REBOUNDING NON TOUCHER

a player. Ask the questions and follow
the correct arrows.

[ Was jack displaced by the team that delivered it ]

The opposing skip or
opponent in Singles must
choose whether to:

e place the jack where
they believe it would
have come to rest and
replace any part of the
head disturbed by the

The opposing skip or
opponent in Singles
must put the jack
back to its former
position

Law 38.1.3

“Was the bowl on its

“Did the bowl displace anything
before it hit your foot?”

No — follow the red arrow.

“Was the bowl displaced by the
team that delivered it i.e. Red?”

No — follow the red arrow.

It must be redelivered
by the same player

Law 38.3.1

Was Jack in its Was Jack Was Jack original course?” ini
Yes — follow the green arrow. ORIGINAL COURSE IN MOTION AT REST

Jack displaced
by a non toucher

|

Jack displaced
by neutral person or

Jack displaced
by a non toucher

Jack displaced
by neutral person or

“Did the bowl disturb anything after

displaced jack; or

The opposing lead The jack must be re- ® declare the end dead.

must place the mat delivered by the
and re-deliver the same player
jack, but must not

play first.
Law 38.1.1.1 Law 38.1.1.2 Law 38.1.2

JACK DISPLACEMENT DURING MEASURING
OR BY NON-TOUCHER

Was Jack displaced by
PLAYER’S EQUIPMENT

Was Jack displaced by
MARKER’S EQUIPMENT

The marker must put the
jack back to a position
agreed by the
opponents.

If the opponents cannot
agree, the marker must
put the jack back to its
former position.

The opponent must put
the jack back to its
former position.

Law 38.4.1

Law 38.4.2
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think it would have stopped or leave
it where it came to rest.

« If anything, or anybody, is neutral
to the rink of play and displaces a
bowl or a jack then the opponents
need to come to an agreement
on their replacement and if they
cannot agree then the end is
declared dead.

Earlier I mentioned various methods
that have been devised to aid with
learning and decision making. An
example of one of these is a simple
flowchart method as shown. Another
is available in the back of the law
book as a summary table. These
are designed for quick reference to
help make the correct decision. The
flowchart is designed to ask several

Was Jack displaced by
UMPIRE’S EQUIPMENT

The umpire must put the
jack back to its former
position.

Law 38.4.3

questions of the players at the time
of the displacement, each of which
will generate a yes /no answer leading
to the law decision which can be
explained to the players.

Let me introduce my little helpers
and with the help of the charts we can
explain some common scenarios

§ % 8

Blue Player Red Player Meutral Person

You are called on to the rink as the
umpire to advise the players on the
following occurrence:

This scenario involves a player
displacing a bowl so we need to use
the chart titled Bowl displacement by

“There should be no reason or scenario where players have to
touch, lift, stop or otherwise interfere with bowls from their own

it hit your foot?”
Yes — follow the green arrow.
You should now have arrived at the
options available in Law 37.1.1.4
Red skip must choose to:
* replace the head and have the bowl
replayed
« replace the head and place the bowl
where he thinks it would have come
to rest; or
* declare the end dead
Let’s look at another.

The skips or
opponents in Singles
must put the jack
where they believe it
would have come to
rest.

If they cannot agree
on the jack’s final
position, the end
must be declared

The skips or
opponents in Singles
must place the jack
where they believe it
would have come to
rest.

If they cannot agree
on the jack’s final
position, the end
must be declared

An opponent or the
marker must put it
back to its former
position

It must be put back
to its former
position.

If the skips or
opponents in Singles
cannot agree on the
jack’s former
position, the end
must be declared
dead.
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Umpires decision?
Ask the questions

AJack Russell runs onto the green and plays
football with your Jack.

This time the jack is moved by a
Jack Russell (sorry I couldn’t resist
it). The dog is neutral according to
the definitions and so we need to
use the chart that says displacement
of the jack by a neutral object or
person. Answer the questions and
follow the arrows, did you arrive at
Law 38.3.3?

There are of course many other
scenarios that can occur during a
game so why not think of a few
situations you have found yourself
in and then use the charts to find the
decision that may or may not have
been made at the time.

If you would like to download a
copy of these charts to keep in your
bowls bag, then please feel free to
download a copy from the English
Bowls Umpires Association website
www.ebua.co.uk.

There is one simple message that [
can pass on to you — there should be
no reason or scenario where players
have to touch, lift, stop or otherwise
interfere with bowls from their own
team or their opponents during
the game.

If you avoid this, then you avoid
any displacement penalty in the laws

dead. dead.

Law 38.5.1 y Law 38.3.2 y

Law 38.5.2 V Law 38.3.3 F

BOWL DISPLACEMENT BY A NEUTRAL PERSON OR NEUTRAL OBJECT

Was Bowl Was Bowl
IN MOTION AT REST

Was Bowl in its
ORIGINAL COURSE

[ Did bowl disturb the head BEFORE displacement

DISTURBANCE IS
VALID

Law 37.3.2.1

—

Did bowl disturb the head AFTER displacement ][ Did bowl disturb the head AFTER displacement ] [ Did bowl disturb the head AFTER displacement ]

The skips or The bowl must be The skips or The skips or The skips or The skips or

opponents in Singles
must agree how to
replace the head and
then have the bowl
replayed.

If they cannot agree,
they must declare the
end dead.

Law 37.3.1.2

law 37.3.1.4 y

replayed

Law 37.3.1.1
Law 37.3.1.3
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opponents in Singles
must agree where
the bowl would have
come to rest and how
to replace any part of
the head disturbed
after the
displacement.

If they cannot agree,
they must declare the
end dead.

Law 37.3.2.3

Law 37.3.3.2 V

opponents in Singles
must agree where
the bowl would have
come to rest.

If they cannot agree,
they must declare the
end dead.

Law 37.3.2.2

Law 37.3.3.1 V

opponents in Singles
must agree on the
former position of
the bowl and how to
replace any part of
the head disturbed
after the
displacement.

If they cannot agree,

they must declare the
end dead.

Law 37.3.4.2 7

opponents in Singles
must agree on the
former position of
the bowl.

If they cannot agree,
they must declare the
end dead.

Law 37.3.4.1 V

that may ultimately affect the final
positioning of your valuable shots. @

team or their opponents during the game”
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